top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRafalene

The Birth of "Her Spunky Spirit"

Updated: May 30, 2019

Discussing what made Rafalene want to start this blog and the meaning behind the name.



Since I could remember I was always looking for an outlet to showcase my creativity, whether it was coloring at 4 years old or photography at 18 years old. I always knew that I needed some way to express myself through the arts, I suppose that is the Pisces in me.


Now at 22 years old, I find that a blog can do just that. The arts are so much more than a creative outlet, they start discussions on hard to talk about topics, help others feel as though they are not alone, or showcase what makes the world so beautiful. I have tried the blogging thing before but my biggest hardship was making a blog that screams everything I am about. After taking some time and really diving into what I want to discuss on a blog, I created Her Spunky Spirit.


So what is it that I want this blog to be? A place for people to come and learn about SUSTAINABLE fashion (mainly through thrifting but other outlets as well), beauty in a CRUELTY-FREE light, and offer discussions on self-love related topics. With social media, it is quite easy to compare yourself, both on looks and activities, to other people. This can make it hard to love yourself when you feel a constant reminder that you could be doing more, or that you do not look like the majority of Instagram models. I believe that there needs to be more inclusivity on Instagram, especially within businesses and who they choose to model. As a size 10-12 woman myself, I find it hard to purchase things that are on a size 0-2 model because we will never look the same in it. My body is MUCH different than hers and that is OK! But... I would love to see what the outfit looks like on someone my size and I am sure I am not alone in this.


This is where I come in! I will show you how to shop on a budget but still remain ethical in what you are buying. I will show you what that outfit looks like on a 10-12 size woman so everyone has a guide on what to purchase. I will discuss self-love, how to find it, why it is so important and SO much more!


My main goal of this blog is to create a community for those who feel these areas are lacking. This blog will discuss beauty, fashion, and lifestyle but in a new way. I also wanted this blog to showcase who I am, which is where the name comes from. Spunky, by definition, means "courageous and determined." I would define myself by these words, but I believe that many of you would as well. Maybe you are determined for change, to spread love, to love yourself, or just feel a sense of belongingness. In order to do these things, that would make you courageous. To step outside of your comfort zone will always make you courageous.


With that being said, I hope that this blog helps you find all the necessary tools for ethical products but also opens many discussions (remember you can always comment on these blog posts and I will answer back).


Time to unleash your inner SPUNKY SPIRIT!

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page