top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRafalene

First Spray Tan Experience

Updated: May 30, 2019

This blog post will answer questions about spray tanning and Rafalene's first time spray tan experience.



Background


My skin is very sensitive, specifically to unnatural products, and my face is a combination of dry and oily. My face is acne prone, suffers redness, and my skin (everywhere) is prone to allergic reactions. With that being said, I would say I am the perfect participant to try a spray tan! Ever since I could remember I had no problems with getting tan the all natural way... the sun! Yet once I started college I started to have trouble with getting tan in this way, the first time I went to the beach after Freshman year I burned like crazy. Every inch of me was burned and it never really turned to tan but rather just peeled off. I have also noticed a loss of pigment since then in my skin, no matter what time of the year. This kind of bothered me because 1. I am Italian and I enjoy showing that side of me and 2. I just like being tan! I knew that I did not want to use tanning beds since they are bad for you but spray tans kind of scared me because I also did not want to look orange. After living in Pittsburgh for almost a year now, I finally found a place that offered spray tans which attracted my eye. The girls online were natural looking, not orange, and looked glowy behind belief. I had to try it out!


Blush Tan Pittsburgh


Blush Tan in Pittsburgh offers vegan and organic spray tans, with the option of a full body, partial body or face only tan. There are three solutions to choose from which each has a different developing time ranging from 2-12 hours making it accessible for anyone's schedule. I opted for the original solution which has a 10-12 hour develop time, meaning the longer you leave it on the darker it will become. I also chose the full body spray tan which includes your face. Another thing that attracted me to this studio was that it emphasized feeling confident and wearing what makes you feel most comfortable while getting sprayed. On their social media, they show models of all body types which made me feel more comfortable.

Once I arrived at the studio, I felt as if I was in the right place. The two sisters who own this location were very welcoming and explained everything I needed to know and welcomed the questions that I had. They made a specific formula for my skin by asking me a few questions such as how well I tan out in the sun, as well as how easily I burn. After this process, they began my spray tan! The whole process took about 15 minutes and I noticed an instant change in the color of my skin. Throughout the day it did get darker in color but I was reassured that it will wash off to be a more natural glow.


Spray Tan Results

On Tuesday was when I had first gotten my spray tan done, Wednesday was after my first shower, and Thursday I had showered twice since getting it. Between my first and after my second shower, there is not much that came off! I think this is a good thing because I was very pleased with this color. There is something so satisfying about tan lines, don't you think?


Post Tan Care


After letting the tan develop overnight (about 20 hours because I fell asleep with it on) I rinsed my body using lukewarm water only! The second time I showered I used a loofah and body wash to gently clean my body. After showering I pat myself dry with a towel and go about my day! I try not to put too much on my body, such as lotions, and make sure to only use natural products to help my spray tan stay on longer.


Answering Your Questions


How do they determine the right color for you? You will be asked a handful of questions about your skin, how dark you want to go, etc. It is pretty quick and then they mix a formula especially for you and your skin!


Did the spray tan break my skin out? Not at all! This was a huge worry for me but I think because the products are more natural and they are also organic, my skin did not have any reaction to the formula!


Is the formula organic? Yes, and vegan!


What can you use to prolong your tan? Blush Tan has a specific body wash online that will help for in the shower purposes and they also offer something similar to self-tanner to keep up with your tan in between sprays. I was recommended to use a body wash that is oil free!


Would I get a spray tan again? YES! YES! YES! I loved this experience, everyone at the studio was so reassuring and welcoming. I couldn't be more pleased with the color, even as soon as I stepped out from getting sprayed, I was instantly happier. The ladies at Blush Tan keep your formula on their files which allows for improvement if you are not happy with your color. This is the perfect place to go if you are looking for a natural-looking tan.


What should I look for in a spray tan company? I would say to look for an organic formula because it is something going onto your skin. Anything that goes onto your skin you want to be cautious of so it does not end in a reaction, plus you wouldn't want any chemicals on your body. I would also recommend looking into their social media to see if they are inclusive with body types, etc, to feel more comfortable since you will have someone close to you while you wear next to nothing. If you go in person just to visit before giving it a go, you will get a good feel for their workers and the atmosphere. Look for people who are glad to answer your questions. Not to mention that Blush Tan does have multiple locations so definitely check into that too!


Overall I loved my experience and will recommend Blush Tan Pittsburgh to ANYONE!


If you are in the Pittsburgh area make sure to check out Blush Tan at https://www.blushtan.com/ and on Instagram @blushtan_pgh!


This is not a sponsored post, all services were paid for by myself with no compensation.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page