top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRafalene

The Benefits of Dip Powder Nails

Why you should hop on board the dip powder nail train instead of sticking with the usual acrylics.


Why I Made the Switch


Since high school, I was getting acrylics regularly but allowed my nails to breath for a few months break every now and then. I enjoyed getting acrylics because my nails break so easily so it seemed like the best option in order to have long nails. My biggest problem? The breakage afterward! I constantly restarted my nail growth because the acrylics took whatever nail length I had with it when I got them taken off. For about a year I decided to stay away from acrylics to allow a long break for my nails and see if I could grow them long naturally. I noticed that my nails grow fast but are weak making them break so easily. In January of 2019, I stumbled across a YouTube video talking about dip powder nails that caught my eye. After watching that video I learned that dip powder is similar to a gel but stronger, yet has a lighter feel then acrylics while still giving your nails extra strength. I liked the idea of it and searched were my closest salon was that offered dip powder. After going to the M.A.K. Organic Nail Bar I learned so much more about all that dip powder has to offer.


Dip Powder Benefits


1. It offers length through nail extensions. If the main reason you stay true to acrylic nails is for the length then look no further. The tips that your nail artist puts on before applying the acrylic formula on top, are the same tips you will have on. The difference is that the only formula going on top of the nail is the dip powder color.


2. It strengthens your nails. The formula of dip powder is heavier than gel but lighter than acrylics. Anytime I accidentally stub my nail it never breaks off. Since I have begun getting dip powder my nails have not broken off EVER!


3. NO SMELL! We all know that strong smell of acrylics and I was never a fan so this is a HUGE bonus for me.


4. Most dip powders are organic! The fewer chemicals going onto your skin/body the better always.


5. No chipping nail color. My color stays on, without any chips or discoloration, for a month! At this point, I find that I need a touch up because my nails grew out although I am sure it goes on longer.


Nail Growth


I have battled with my nail growth for YEARS! My nails grow fast enough but break off so easily. Because of that I never had long nails naturally, but always wanted them. Dip powder with nail extensions provided me with a temporary fix to give me the long nails I have always wanted until mine grew to the same length. It took about a month (my nails grow VERY fast) which ended up being two nail salon visits, then I no longer needed extensions. When my nail artist took everything off my nail beds and tips looked just as healthy as when we started. Now my nails are all natural and long! I couldn't be happier that I made the switch and no longer need any help with my length.


If you live in Pennsylvania the two nail salons I go to are:


M.A.K. Organic Nail Bar in Wyomissing


JJ Nail Salon in Pittsburgh


This post is not sponsored and all opinions are my own.


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page